¿ Why Make Art ?

 It becomes clearer how much my Art is about my perception of the world.  Small revelations about things, events, my personal experiences…

There is an addictive quality related to my persistence of not abandoning the creative process.  

I don’t look at my art as being about “ego”… If I could be annonymous and my Art be the only thing revealed about me that would be quite fine, but that isn’t realistic one must at some level be part of the “myth” of the work.  The only question is how much of the myth is about one’s person and how much is about the work ?

The best Art is self reflective:

We can know our own experiences But when we try to report on the experiences of others our Art falls short of the mark.

And there is an obsessive nature about the making of Art in that one must have the personal desire to at least push aside other activities and set aside time and resources for Creation.

That appears obsessive to others and to the Artist it is a necessity.

 

2 Responses to “¿ Why Make Art ?”


  1. 1 artrockpoetry April 22, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I really like this post–insights and questions! 🙂 I remember reading somewhere that words (or any other art for that matter) reveal and conceal the soul. It also makes me wonder how much we are influenced by a person’s dress when we go to view his or her art. Again, liked the post. 🙂

  2. 2 zerne April 22, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Thanks for your comments


Leave a Reply

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

