5 Works

Today I select these 5 works that mean something to me.. tomorrow or even later today I could select 5 more… or perhaps many more but these are the 5 for today.
 

Qué hai que hacer mas?

Qué hai que hacer mas? plate 33

Los Caprichos & Los Desastres de la guerra. I saw these works in person as a teenager and they made quite an impression on me.

Los Desastres de la guerra
Los Caprichos
Francisco José de Goya y Lucientes [March 30, 1746 – April 16, 1828]

Guernica

Guernica

I saw it when it was at the Museum of Modern Art many years ago. The memory of the work has become stronger than the immediate impression it made on me.

Pablo Diego José Francisco de Paula Juan Nepomuceno María de los Remedios Cipriano de la Santísima Trinidad Martyr Patricio Clito Ruíz y Picasso [October 25, 1881 – April 8, 1973] an excellent index of his work, the Official Picasso Site

Birthday

Birthday

I was familiar with the work from an exhibition of Kienholz’ work at the Washington Gallery of Modern Art and then assisted him in the restoration of that work at the Corcoran Gallery of Art.

Ed Kienholz [October 23, 1927 – June 10, 1994] Bio at the Beat Museum,1, 2

Monet’s works I am familiar with from a number of exhibtions… the Monet show at the Metropolitan some years ago was incredible… and the waterlily panels at MOMA I have studied many times.

Claude Monet. (French, 1840-1926). Reflections of Clouds on the Water-Lily Pond. c. 1920. Oil on canvas, three panels, Each 6′ 6 3/4″ x 13′ 11 1/4″ (200 x 424.8 cm), overall 6′ 6 3/4″ x 41′ 10 3/8″ (200 x 1276 cm). Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Fund. © 2008 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / ADAGP, Paris

Light Depth

Light Depth

Assisted Sam in the installation of this work at the Corcoran.

Light Depth, Sam Gilliam (American, b. 1933)

3 Responses to “5 Works”


  1. 1 hardwood floor restoration March 28, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time
    deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. 2 reflections corbridge December 13, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    Hi, its good piece of writing concerning media print, we
    all know media is a wonderful source of information.

  3. 3 large photo printing December 28, 2016 at 9:06 pm

    This is really interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for in the hunt for extra of your excellent post.

    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

