A Painter Looks at Clouds

all of these pictures were taken in the span of 15-20 minutes in the early morning looking at various segments of the sky. It is the appearance of painterliness that interests me.

clouds_0006adj_rr

clouds_0007adj_rr

clouds_0008adj_rr

clouds_0012adj_rr

clouds_0015adj_rr

clouds_0019adj_rr

clouds_0020adj_rr

clouds_0027adj_rr

clouds_0031adj_rr

clouds_0034adj_rr

contrail_0017adj_rr

1 Response to “A Painter Looks at Clouds”


  1. 1 portlandmike December 16, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Hi Ed,
    My Google Search picked up the mention of Howard Mehring on your blog here. And it is fun for me to find a fellow DC artist from those days.

    I showed up in DC in ’61, and I went to AU. Ben Summerford, D’Arista, and Gates were my teachers. I left with an MFA ten years later… after many adventures. Alice Denny and Jack Rasmussen bought small paintings from me when I had a show at the WPA.

    I raised a family in Columbia, and then went off to Jamaica, where I painted for years (Walter Gomez had my paintings). I ended up taking photos of the sky. I still take photos but I have returned to my abstract roots (http://f0rtylegz.deviantart.com/).

    I’m a little embarrassed to write all this in ‘comments’, but I couldn’t find an email for you. I hope you don’t mind?

    Funny I see Alan Shields to the right of this box. I met him too, and visited his studio with New York friends. Very influenced by American Indians. And Stockwell! Memories.

    Anyway… nice blog. Love to hear from you.
    Mike
    (f0rTyLeGz@gmail.com)


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

